Joel A. Sutherland

Author, Ghost Hunter, Barbarian Librarian, Bibliophile

"What could be scarier than moving next-door to a haunted house? How about a ghost horse? How about a ghastly murder or two? This book is CHILLING. Loved it!"

     -R.L. Stine, author of Goosebumps, on Haunted: The House Next Door

Joel A. Sutherland is the Silver Birch Award-winning author of Haunted Canada, the new series Haunted, and Summer's End



Book Joel for an
author visit!

"Sutherland flexes some literary muscle."

     -FEAR ZONE

New Series Coming Sept 1, 2017!

Haunted is a series of standalone middle-grade fiction, perfect for fans of Goosebumps and Haunted Canada! Packed with action, genuine chills, and some healthy doses of humour to cut the tension, these novels are set in towns and cities across Canada. Prepare to scream!

Click on the covers to learn more:

"A talent to watch."

     -DARK SCRIBE MAGAZINE

Summer's End Trailer

"A great premise, a cool twist, and an exciting climax..."
-Allan Stratton, author of The Dogs

Paranormal Activity in the Olde Angel Inn

As research for Haunted Canada 4, I voluntarily checked in to the Olde Angel Inn in Niagara-on-the-Lake in the hopes of determining if the rumours of ghost appearances had any basis in truth. Watch a video of my ordeal to see how I fared:

Wipeout Canada

I was selected as a contestant on the first season of Wipeout Canada. Look for me as The Barbarian Librarian on the special 'Beauties vs. Geeks' episode! View my application video here: