Joel A. Sutherland

Author, Ghost Hunter, Barbarian Librarian

Home

Book Joel for an author visit today!

"What could be scarier than moving next-door to a haunted house? How about a ghost horse? How about a ghastly murder or two? This book is CHILLING. Loved it!"

     -R.L. Stine, author of Goosebumps, on Haunted: The Nightmare Next Door

Joel A. Sutherland is the Silver Birch Award-winning author of Haunted Canada (now with more than 400,000 copies in print), the new series Haunted, and Red Maple Award Honour Book Summer's End

"Canada's answer to R.L. Stine."

      -Quill & Quire 

Latest Releases:

Field of Screams, Night of the Living Dolls, The Nightmare Next Door, and Ghosts Never Die (Sourcebooks editions)

Haunted is a series of standalone middle grade fiction, perfect for fans of Goosebumps. Packed with action, genuine chills, and some healthy doses of humor to cut the tension, these novels will have young readers staying up late, reading in the dark...


Now available for the first time in America from Sourcebooks Jabberwocky!


Order the series online:

Amazon.com

Barnes & Noble

Haunted Canada 10: More Scary True Stories

Even more chilling ghost stories from all across our spooky land. Moody black-and-white illustrations and photographs enhance the hauntingly eerie read.


  • In Victoria, British Columbia, the spirit of a killer haunts Fan Tan Alley.
  • The ghost of a little girl with long dark hair inhabits a hockey arena in Canmore, Alberta.
  • Mysterious knocking at the door of a home in Halifax, Nova Scotia, signals the start of a series of strange happenings.

Order Haunted Canada 10 online:

"Sutherland flexes some literary muscle."

     -Fear Zone

Summer's End Trailer

"A great premise, a cool twist, and an exciting climax..."
     -Allan Stratton, author of The Dogs, on Summer's End

Paranormal Activity in the Olde Angel Inn

As research for Haunted Canada 4, Joel voluntarily checked in to the Olde Angel Inn in Niagara-on-the-Lake in the hopes of determining if the rumours of ghost appearances had any basis in truth. Watch a video of his ordeal to see how he fared:

"A talent to watch."

     -Dark Scribe Magazine

Wipeout Canada

Joel was selected as a contestant on the first season of Wipeout Canada. Look for him as The Barbarian Librarian on the special 'Beauties vs. Geeks' episode!